User:Davidalanreese

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Hi Everyone. I'm Dave. I'm 39 years old and live in Dallas, TX with my wife and 4 dogs. I've lived in Dallas all my life and even went to college here at the University of Texas at Dallas, getting a B.A. in American Studies. I went to graduate school for a year with a goal of getting a Masters degree in Literary Studies when my part time job working for an ISP just kinda took off. 7 years and three buy-outs latter the new company decided I was too much of a pain in the butt (probably a fair assessment, too) and fired me in a re-orginization. Since then I'm working on my writing but I try to stay up on networking technical issues. Aside from writing and books, I'm also have an eclectic set of interests which include various sports, politics, history, sociology, anthropology, and film. I first came across the Wikipedia site after doing a Google search on some since forgotten subject. Since then, I've been reading all over the site. This is a very cool project. I do have some qualms when I read through some pages and see some statements that I think are overstated, unsubstantiated and just plain wrong - I can't help it, if you hang out in an academic environment long enough there are certain conventions like sources and citations that become important; but I think part of what's cool is that the community environment, the free access to editing, and the promotion of discussion for resolution of dispute and promotion of discussion might, in the end, provide a living breathing document that can be as accurate and intellectually honest as any traditional academic environment while also being free for anyone with a computer and 'net access. I look forward to talking and working on articles with everyone

--Davidalanreese 00:00, 21 Jun 2004 (UTC)